Amon Saga + Legend of Lemnear Review – Hero Cycle Summed Up Right There.

I’ve never done a 2 in 1 anime review before, but I’ll do that here since I want to point out some thoughts I have on these two OVA.

First, I’m pretty sure you’re like ‘wth’ when you read the title, since you probably haven’t heard of either of them. Don’t worry, I’ll introduce you to them. Behold, spoiler awaits.

Let’s start with Amon Saga.

https://i0.wp.com/cartoonresearch.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/AmonSaga25.jpg

Amon Saga was released in 1986, and upon watching it I screamed ‘Saint Seiyaaaaa’ not because those two were similar in art or story, but the atmosphere and animation were the same. Amon Saga follows Amon, a generic stoic protagonist with white hair who wants to avenge his mother. While on his path to revenge, he met a generic long-haired damsel in distress called Princess Lichia. The two had a Romeo-Juliet moment, ratta-tatta-tat, Amon takes revenge, get the girl, and be done. Or not.

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/TeKAXDz1sWE/0.jpg

Amon Saga is a textbook example of an anime from the eighties. We have a protagonist who embarks on a journey, faces obstacles along the way, fell in love with a women, defeats the ‘mwahahaha’ villain, then status quo. Hero’s Cycle, everybody! However, I take that two things made Amon Saga more memorable than most of the other stories. One, its character design was done by Yoshitaka Amano, known for his works in Final Fantasy and Angel’s Egg. Two, Amon did not get the girl. He ditched her.

Which was my favourite thing out of the whole bland movie. I still don’t get why he ditched her, and that’s why this movie stuck with me. I’d have forgotten all about it the next day otherwise. He might be giving priorities to his two sidekicks, he might just not want to settle down, he just didn’t want a girl dragging his legs, or he felt like he wasn’t good enough for her… I don’t know. Lichia was practically begging for him to take her along and he just turned around and went ‘nope’.

https://pxhst.co/avaxhome/fd/97/001c97fd_medium.png

Other than that, everything was so… typical. A story of a typical protagonist and typical sidekicks fighting typical villains over a typical princess told through typical art and typical music. The art wasn’t as difficult to watch for me as it was for others since I grew up with Saint Seiya’s rushed animations, but some of the battle sequences just made me go: “really?” while rolling my eyes. To tell you the truth, if it was not for Amon ditching Lichia at the end, I would have hated this movie to the core because it was just so… boring. And those who have followed my blog probably would notice that I rarely say anything bad about anything but this is just… ugh.

https://i0.wp.com/operationrainfall.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Legend-of-Lemnear-2.pngTalk about being typical, Legend of Lemnear is also another typical tale of another typical white hair protagonist who goes of fighting with swords. Only now the protagonist is a woman instead of a man. But, it is still so typical I wanted to scream.

Lemnear is a female warrior who set out to avenge a mwahaha villain for destroying her village and kidnapping her brother. Along the way she was turned into some fanservice material before regaining herself and doing her thing. She followed the Hero’s cycle down to the last detail where she ‘died’ and reborn, then defeat the villain with her brother who somehow found his way out of oblivion. (He was gone for the whole movie I forgot he existed.)

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/1BgPS69GDzk/hqdefault.jpgHere goes another typical story with typical art, although Legend of Lemnear has boobs everywhere and Lemnear fought showing her boobs, which was typical fanservice. (The boobs were pretty much the most well-animated thing in the movie.) I didn’t have any particular favorite moment in this one, though I did like how the part Lemnear almost died was dragged out so much I thought she died for real. Umm… other than that it was quite predictable I didn’t know why I bothered to watch this in the first place.

https://i2.wp.com/www.animenewsnetwork.com/thumbnails/hotlink-full/encyc/A690-22.jpgWhat made it so similar to Amon Saga was that it was, you got it, typical. And the settings and plot are similar, to top it off. If I had done a separate review for each series I would end up saying the same thing for both of them.

To sum it up, if you have too much free time on your hands, you could give those two a try just for kicks. If you had known anything about the Hero’s Cycle, it would be the exact same format. No analyzing necessary. Good if you want easy materials to do a school assignment on (I would suggest Amon Saga since Lemnear has a lot of jiggling boobs to it.) I wouldn’t recommend them otherwise.

Leave a Reply

