Fairy Gone Ep. 1-2 Review

I haven’t done anime review in a while, and thanks to having so much to say about Fairy Gone, I’m back…

Image result for fairy gone ep 1"
these are not sea angels

So. Fairy Gone. I trust I am not the only one who was hyped for this, and after episode 1 I must say… I’m disappointed.

The synopsis goes like this: once upon a time, fairy soldiers were used as tools of war. Once the war ended, they became useless. Who would need a weapon during peacetime, right? However, because humans and humans, fairies were misused. Then comes our protagonists, fighting to keep them fairies in check.

Image result for fairy gone ep 1"

And what Fairy Gone gave so far is this: Youjo Senki minus the military/political drama, JoJo Stands that looks like the akuma from D Gray Man, and two cardboards.

Yeah, Marlya and Free… they are so lifeless together. And Veronica? Fairy Gone gave us the same flashback scene 3 times just so we care, but the story failed to deliver. The timing of the dialogue and camera angles felt awkward, plus the dialogue felt so… forced. Marlya’s VA did a perfect job, but the script was just too cliched and didn’t give Marlya any particular personality.

Then we have Free. In the second episode, there were flashbacks of him getting the organ transplant and losing his uh… friend? Despite all that, he felt so dull. His facial expression barely ever changes, and of course that didn’t help at all.

Fairy Gone is just starting, but it’s just boring. I made it a rule not to skip scenes in the first few episodes so I don’t miss any exposition, but maybe not for this.

Image result for fairy gone marlya fairy"

On the good side, I absolutely love the fairy designs. They kind of remind me of Bloodborne, for some reason. Marlya’s looked like somebody decided to combine D Gray Man’s akuma with Blame‘s safeguard. Though to be honest, I was expecting rifle-wielding winged soldiers fighting each other rather than JoJo-style stand battle, but whatever.

So far it’s not the worst anime I’ve seen, but I might not stick through to the second season. The plot, if there is one, seems interesting. Let’s see.

Leave a comment