Island Ep. 1-3 Review: oh look, another island of weirdos

Fiction set in islands often fall under the category of being about weird shit happening all over the island or about survival. Island falls under the former.

island ep 2-1.png

The protagonist Setsuna finds himself naked on the beach. He has no recollection of who he is, but he knew he came from the future to fix something. By the end of the day he found a girl who might have the key to unlocking his past, Ohara Rinne, and that there are more weird stuff about this secluded island of summer skies and blue sea than meets the eye. He also gets to know Kurutsu Karen, a girl in rebellious phase, and Garandou Sara, a miko who claims to know why Setsuna is here. He also finds out that the island’s legend ties them together for some unknown purpose.

island ep 3-3.png

Island is fun to watch when you don’t feel like doing anything productive. I’m not really invested in the characters, none of them really feel that likeable despite one of them being voiced by Tamura Yukari. The MC is not stupid or plain, and that would be all I ask. I give it a passing grade.

The mystery surrounding the plot is quite interesting, actually. There’s the creepy legend, the girls who are named after the creepy girls in the legend, and then there’s Setsuna who ties them all together. It would be interesting to see what exactly this island is hiding.

island ep 3-4.png
I want a bath like this. Open air. Ocean view.

Fanservice is really heavy on the first episode. I almost dropped this one because I thought it’s going in the same territory as Yosuga no Sora (same studio) but thankfully they pulled the plot back to the island’s mystery. But after the ending of episode 3, I’m not so sure anymore.

Weellll, I think I’m going to keep watching, because I want to know if Setsuna really came back in time and who is the guy wanting to kill him.

One thought on “Island Ep. 1-3 Review: oh look, another island of weirdos”

  1. I kind of gave up on this one because after three episodes I just didn’t care about the characters so the mystery and what might happen wasn’t really drawing me in. I may try and binge this after it is done, but week to week wasn’t working for me.

    Like

Leave a comment