RoomESC – Secret of the Hidden Room: the Collaborator Review

man that’s a long title, but this is such a good game.

ผลการค้นหารูปภาพสำหรับ escape the collaborator

The Collaborator is a story-focused puzzle game, available on Steam and android.

It was war time. Dan was a competent businessman who collaborated with the Occupying Nation that shipped southern immigrants to concentration camps. He was seen as helping the enemy, but the man was sentenced to death soon after.

Years later, a piece of hidden document and a witness would bring to light what actually happened all those decades ago. Was Dan a traitor…or a victim?

In this game you play mostly as Dan. There are a whole lot of mini-puzzles and some took me more than ten minutes to solve. There were also quicktime minigames and a lot of math involved. To be honest, the only kind of puzzles I’m good at are where you find things and use things, so the puzzles in this game were a challenge. There were a bunch of enjoyable minigames that add spice to the story, though.

ผลการค้นหารูปภาพสำหรับ escape the collaborator

There are also some Korean text in one of the the background which doesn’t really…belong? I know this is a Korean game but I’d find it strange if the characters actually spoke Korean.

What really made this game memorable is the story. I shalt not spoil, but no matter how weird Dan’s tactics to run away from the Occupying Nation is, the ending will leave one’s heart with lingering emotions (or move people to tears). The characters and the plot was really great for a puzzle game.

ผลการค้นหารูปภาพสำหรับ escape the collaborator

One thing that I did not like is that after sitting for a 30-second ads, some of the hints were absolutely useless. Some gave you the answer indirectly but some were just… give me back thirty seconds of my life, damn it!

In short, I love the story but not so much some of the math puzzles. I can’t even solve one of them without using algebra. If you like challenging puzzles and fun minigames, plus a touching story to top it off, be sure to give this game a go.

 

The developer is making a new game called Frankenstein. Here is their website:

https://www.tumblbug.com/frankenstein

Can’t read Korean so I dunno what’s going on with it, but I’d love to play once it gets a translation.

 

Leave a comment