Knights of the Zodiac: Saint Seiya Ep. 2-3 Review – Buuuuuuurn!!!

I think I’m a bit too old for this. Like, 12 years too old.

Image result for knights of the zodiac saint seiya
Pegasus Ryu-Sei-Ken!!! …Wait, wrong country?

Seiya got his Pegasus Cloth from Cassius (thankfully they took out the ear-cutting scene) and after a duel with Shaina, Marin told him to participate in the Galaxian Wars where he reunited with Saori.

Then at Galaxian Wars, Seiya and Shiryu fought. Shiryu got hit in the heart and almost died, but Seiya managed to resuscitate him before both of them are carried out of the stadium.

One thing that’s been bothering me is that everybody’s head guard is gone. They just don’t look the same without their little constellation animal tiaras.

Sooooo this thing managed to close the plot hole that if the Galaxian Wars is being broadcast, people will fight over to get the Saints to be in their SDF and the Saints won’t be with Athena anymore. So just make it an underground competition for the next Sagittarius Saint so they can go against Sanctuary and the rest of the world can mind their own business.

I feel that Seiya’s character in episode 2 is really inconsistent. One scene he’s all cool and ‘I will protect Athena!’ and stuff, and mere minutes later he’s back to being whiny again. He goes off the stadium pissed. And moments later he’s like ‘Shiryu I’ll save you my mate!!!’ Like, there’s no transition. He’s just whatever the script demands.

Oh sheet and Hyouga was so cool. When I was in fourth grade, Hyouga and Shun were everybody’s crushes and I think if my girl friends were to watch this they’d squeal for him. Though they cut the funny Diamond Dust dance out. Why lol. And about Shun… huh. I don’t know, I don’t recognize this person anymore. Must be a new character.

I like how they put the textures on the Cloths and on Marin’s mask. Makes them more realistic, though the damage sometimes look a bit too much given the situation. I mean, Seiya just took a few hits and the entire armor is scratched. What.

And don’t get me started on how they reused the same punch animation 4 times for Shaina’s Thunder Claw. Come on people, that’s just lazy.

Personally, there’s nothing wrong with the team removing every girl’s masks if they’re trying to suggest that Marin is Seiya’s lost sister, but she’s actually… not (but might be for this adaptation). Uh, given that there’s only 6 episodes out I’ll probably just watch until Ikki comes out and burns everybody and quit.

Leave a comment