A Love Letter to The Letter (The Letter visual novel review)

the letter 1.png

The Letter is a horror visual novel by Yangyang mobile, and this is like… their first game.

Their FIRST game!!!

And I’ve been playing for 24 hours and my completion rate is still only a little more than half!

Basically, in this game you play from the POV of 7 characters, each with their own stories to tell. All of them are, one way or the other, related to a mansion haunted by this Japanese ghost lady who’s so not friendly to her tenants, they have to send out letters with Help me! to anyone entering the damn place.

The Letter is worth every cent spent, and I highly recommend playing this if you like visual novels and horror games.

Okay, so now I will lay out some reasons why I love this game. Spoiler free.

Dear The Letter, your characters are so charming.

the letter 3

Every character in this game has their own story to tell, and each of them has something to offer. It’s impossible to hate anybody, everybody is doing it for their own reasons and each is a protagonist of their own story. There are so many sides a character. Each one of them has something memorable and relateable, and I love how the different characters interact in the story.

Dear The Letter, your story is so well-written.

I thought repeating the same few days seven times is going to be tedious, but not at all. The story is very engaging and immersive, and every time you see a story from a different POV or make a different choice, you see some new things. There is not a single part where I go ‘huh?’. The horror, romance, and drama is handled so well I can’t really think of anything else to say.

Dear The Letter, your artwork is so pleasant to look at.

the letter 4

The artwork has a unique style that I haven’t really seen anywhere else. The CGs, character sprites, and backgrounds are all animated. Beautifully. The Letter is a feast for the eyes.

Dear The Letter, your dubbing is perfect.

The Letter’s voice acting is on the same level as those professional Hollywood anime dubs and stuff. Coupled with good script, one cannot simply just hit the space bar and keep reading without listening to the whole line. The voices bring the best out of every scene and every character. The dialects are also well-done (though I’m not the best judge since I’m not that familiar with the Irish/Scottish). Special cheers to Rebecca and Marianne.

Oh, and every character, no matter how minor, are all voiced. That’s a plus.

Dear The Letter, your branching drives me insane.

the letter2

Well, yes, it does. But I love challenges.

That was it. There’s so much more to this game, but I’ll leave it as that for now. Have you played The Letter? Let’s discuss!

Yangyang Mobile’s next game, Love Esquire, is up on Kickstarter. At first I was a bit reluctant because this is kind of a 180 of The Letter, but the trailer is looking real good. Support them so we can all get another amazing game to play ❤

Also, there’s a BETA Russian version in the game. Hmm maybe I’ll give it a play if I can actually keep up my daily duolingo streak…

Leave a comment