Children of the Whales Ep. 7-9 Review – Whaling like a pro

“I want to see your future, even if the whole world hates you.” – Suou’s Grandpa

kujira no ko 9-4.png

Today on the Mud Whale: massacre, duel of the perpetual smilers, loli singing, Elfen Lied arms, and Ouni temporarily goes insane.

The day of judgement has come and the Mud Whale has been invaded. Meanwhile, the gang sent to take the enemy’s ship down has almost been 1-hit-killed by a trap.

I mean, yeah, I get it that these people grew up on an island that knows nothing about conflict, but can you actually lose your instinctive sense of danger? These guys look like they’re in a new playground rather than on an enemy’s ship. It is an effective way to create drama, by giving a sense of hope and then crushing it down, but it’s not really believable that the characters can act so fluffy and happy all the time. I am sure all of you who have seen this anime saw their deaths coming, and I am sure I am not only the one sitting there going: ‘yep, this guy’s gonna die. Yep, this guy is so going to die.’

kujira no ko 8-3.png

And I cannot not mention Leodari in this review. Really, how the heck did he survive so long after getting jabbed by a stick to the throat? The guy’s yelling is so annoying I have to try my best not type refer to him as ‘b*tch’ in this review. As satisfying it is to watch Mr. Eyepatch beat the crap out of him, I agree on one point that the world is crooked and that’s what drove him insane. Still, bi—I mean, Leodari is really annoying. He kills people while laughing and when injured, crawls away whining that he doesn’t want to die. If I didn’t already give Kujira no Ko an award last year I’d have given this guy ‘Most Annoying Character of the Year’.

And Suou is seriously being too kind, he lets Leodari go even when in Leodari’s head the guy’s still thinking of killing more people. What would’ve happened if the kids didn’t find him and the soldier took him back to the mothership, huh?

And why do I have a feeling he’s gonna come back?

And how the heck did Ouni survive a bullet+sword through the thigh? There’s like, a friggin’ artery there. A big one, too. Is it because he’s a Demonus or is it because of MC plot armor?

kujira no ko 9-5.png

Despite all those problems I have, Kujira no Ko is still fun to watch because it’s so beautiful. The scenes where the trees grow from the walls inside the Noose’s Chamber and the part where Nibi says his final farewell to Ouni is so aesthetically pleasing. Even if I see a death flag stuck on Nibi’s head since day 1, I can’t help but cry a little inside. Kujira no Ko is more like an anime where one sits back and enjoy the atmosphere and drama than one focused on spurring the plot forward. It’s slow, but at least it’s slow for a reason.

Oh right, finally Whale Calves Sing on the Sand has some singing. Great job,  Ema. (And this is a terrible picture. Oh well.) The song is beautiful, nobody can deny that.

kujira no ko 8-1.png

I feel like that scene with the squid-hair Noose was a bit unnecessary, but never mind.

The residence of Falena managed to sink the invader ship, proving who has better Saimia. (If the invader’s ship was a whale too, then the title of my post would make a lot of sense but I just didn’t know what to name it.) There are tons of questions unanswered and a big boss to be defeated. Can’t wait to see how it’s going to end.

Leave a comment