Knights of the Zodiac: Saint Seiya Ep. 6 Review – With the Power of Friendship

What the heck, they did more with Ikki’s character in ten minutes than they did with Seiya in the past five episodes.

Image result for knights of the zodiac saint seiya

This episode is probably the best one so far. Mu and Shaka made their appearances. Ikki’s got such a killer flashback. And now we’re falling into the ‘with the power of friendship!’ cliche. How wonderful.

I feel that they shouldn’t remove that part where Ikki asked to go to Death Queen Island instead of Shun. That really shows how strongly he cares for his bro/sis so much more than just teaching her how to fight and stuff. But oh well, that bit with Esmeralda is good enough.

This Shun is not bad, but like the other characters, I can’t bring myself to care about her. I don’t want to even touch the issue of representation here and so I’ll leave the Shun discussion at that.

Also with the name changes, I just watch the Thai dub so that thing shouldn’t bother me anymore. But I am so bothered that the script had Dohko and Mu calling each other ‘master’ when the former is around 200 years older than the latter and they both know it.

Well, so far Knights of the Zodiac is not horrible, but it’s not something I’d recommend. I don’t think it’s an issue with age, since I’m also watching Avatar and that one is so much more engaging than this. Knights of the Zodiac just hasn’t found its selling point yet, and so it tries to be that generic action friendship kind of thing. If it’s still blandly going on like this, I’d rather spend my time watching Lost Canvas. Let’s see how the second half of the season goes.

Leave a comment