Aura Kingdom 2 (Fantasy Frontier 2) – so far so good

So I just got into Aura Kingdom 2 after having played the PC and mobile version of Aura Kingdom (without the 2). I say so far, this is the best version of the game with all the gimmicks from the PC version (plus a few more) and the ease of farming of mobile games.

Aura Kingdom 2 เปิด Soft Launch เฉพาะ Android บนสโตร์ไทยแล้วตอนนี้ ...

Aura Kingdom 2’s story for now centers around finding bow fragments to restore a legendary bow. While it’s nothing new or remarkable, the game has a ‘listen-in’ function where you can listen to random NPCs on the map to get more information about the characters or the place. It’s a nice world-building detail. There are also Easter egg side stories to collect when you have free time. The translation is also quite good. Some phrases are awkward, but understandable. (Oh god the Thai version of the PC Aura Kingdom was one of the worst work of translation I’ve ever encountered in my life. Its like the translator chugged Chinese dialogue into Google translate – the version from 6 years ago – and just put whatever it said into the game dialogue.)

I’m impressed that the art of the game is so good, yet it doesn’t set my phone on fire. The game consumes space, but doesn’t consume a lot of power, which is a good thing, yes? One thing I’m sad about is that they removed the epic animation for the ultimate move. Sad.

What I like from the PC version and Aura Kingdom 2 is the variety of gameplay that’s almost like a single-player RPG. You have a stealth mode, a mode where you switch characters, some quests where you need to take a certain NPC somewhere, and so on. Oh, and you have a mount system + a flight system. While the flight system is not as dynamic as the PC version, it’s still fun to experiment. I can still climb random buildings. I’ll put some comparison between me climbing buildings in the PC and the mobile version below. One thing I’m sad about is that the swimming system is removed.

For those wondering if this has gacha element, yes, but the rate is not horrible. There are gacha pulls for costumes and minions for your squad that will give you extra stats and help you out in battle. I got a whole bunch of SR Eidolons (your companion/minion) plus an SSR Ramayan Goddess of Creation on my first 10x pull.

One thing I can’t wrap my head around is the dodging. It’s weird, it’s like you can dodge but you still get hit anyway. In boss fights, before a big attack, there will be a red rectangle/circle indicating the area where the attack will land. Common sense dictates that if you get out of the area, you will be safe. The thing is, I got out of the area and still got hit. I had to move all the way to the edge of the boss room and had to run back to the boss at the center. I was playing a grenadier (ranged attack) in the first game, so now that I’m playing dragoon, I never realized how melee players had to struggle with this problem lol.

Oh right, pinnacle store. Nice way to force people to play hard. Hah. The thing is, the grinding becomes really tedious after a while. For games like, say, BNS Revolution, you get an offline auto-hunt, but AK2 doesn’t have it and I have to leave my device on all the time to grind, which is not very good for the battery.

One thing though: some of the voice acting is dreadful. Some of the character voices are okay, but some minor characters or minor bosses sound like the devs just randomly pulled their roommate aside to do it.

Well, that’s the gist of Aura Kingdom 2. Happy gaming.

Leave a comment