My Secret Pets! Review – what in the world did I just play

TL;DR: all your pets turned into humans that are horny for you. If you find that unsettling, don’t play this game.

Visual novels can get pretty weird, take Hatoful Boyfriend for example. My Secret Pets is somewhere around that realm. The basic premise is this: you’re a college girl dumped by your boyfriend. When you came home, you found that your beloved pets turned into humans competing with each other for your love.

I had no clue why I bought the game six years ago (it’s just been sitting in my Steam library), and at this point, it’s too late for a refund. The thought of my dog turning into a human that’s horny for me is too much to bear, and thank god the MC’s dog is the only pet that remained an animal throughout almost the entire game, so it was still manageable for me.

What bothered me most was that the characters were like ‘I’ve loved you as a woman ever since I was your pet so and so’ and I was like WTF that’s a bit too close to bestiality. Like, seriously, WTF. Imagine your cockatoo staring at you thinking ‘I want to hug you in my arms gosh i’m so horny’.

Let me turn away from that rather unsettling stuff and look at the game itself. So, yeah, it’s cheesy as hell. Music was a bit annoying, especially the song that play during funny scenes. My ears almost split, it was just so loud. Sprite art was decent, but it’s not the style I like, so I don’t know what to say. The resolution of some background images were pretty bad; I don’t know why that’s the case. It looks like they processed it way too much without preserving the quality.

I’ll admit, the game does pretty well scattering bits and pieces of information across different routes, so you have to play all of them to get the full story. Way to go. *grits teeth* I recommend going in the order the game suggested (beginning with Assam and ending with Reito), but if you want to know the whole story right away, just play Reito’s route and be done with the game.

The dudes are… well, I feel kinda meh with half of them. Lufna (cat) and Ramin (cockatoo) were pretty cute, but they’re so horny gahhhhhhhh. I’d rather play Nekopara any day compared to this thing. Here’s a screenshot of Ramin the cockatoo that illustrates my point:

I wonder what their kid is going to look like.

And Reito, the sole human love interest in the game, is… I dunno. Not my type. His chemistry with the heroine is that teasing tsundere dude x airhead noisy girl type, that while funny to read, did not age well lol.

Not judging your taste girl but I’m with Lufna on this one lol.

No, Reito isn’t that toxic. Sure, he makes bad decisions and has communication issues because he’s overprotective, which they resolved as his route went by. There was this scene where the MC called him ‘sadistic’ as well, but I don’t think he’s that…? He’s too horny, like the other guys. He doesn’t hurt her or anything and keeps her well-being in mind. I think it’s just some word choice issue with the translation.

One thing I do like about this game is that the MC embraces her horny side. MC was pouty about getting laid towards the guy, but she’s actually pretty straightforward about liking it in the narration. It’s a cultural thing; we couldn’t even say we’re horny without being labeled a slut. That was an issue when I was young, but now people are getting more aware that it’s perfectly alright for women to be horny. How times change, and probably for the better. Hmm, I think I got something out of this game after all.

This game is not really for me, but I definitely see the appeal.

It took me about 5 hours to clear 5 endings with the guys, plus the sequel and special story. It’s not a long game.

That’s it. Thanks for reading.

One thought on “My Secret Pets! Review – what in the world did I just play”

Leave a comment