Tenrou: Sirius the Jaeger Ep. 3 Review – Indelible Memories

MUST PROTECC

tenrou ep 3-4.png

Ahem, excuse me while I put myself away.

On a more serious note, these three episodes were incredibly well-written. Sirius packs a lot of content into each episode while not making it feel rushed and dull, which is what a thriller anime should be. This episode in particular got a lot done on character relationships. From the short dialogue between Philip and Yuliy, we see how these two are getting on better terms. After that, we have Dorothea and Fallon who wants to help him but there’s still a wall. Then, it’s Willard, who’s the only one Yuliy actually opens up to and is like Yuliy’s father figure, from whom he can ask for guidance. The best part was where Willard reached to pat Yuliy’s head but took his hand back. That was sooo good. It makes me want to see if he will pat Yuliy one day when he’s come to terms with a lot of other stuff.

tenrou ep 3-5
well who doesn’t like an angst puppy who likes vegetables and hates the cold

What we learned about Yuliy in this episode is that he’s weak to cold weather. Like me, but I grew up in a tropical country so I have an excuse. Okay, back to the review… Yuliy’s got a great deal of internal conflicts. That’s what makes a great MC.

Something else I love is how little details in the animation can show who the character is. Young Yuliy’s unwavering gaze after losing his mother and Mikhail’s tears from seeing his brother overcoming the grief are some examples.

tenrou ep 3-6.png

I also like the culture of the Sirius tribe. Yes, I just read Otoyomegatari. And yes I want to go to Mongolia one day. (Although the story didn’t take place in Mongolia, but still.)

tenrou ep 3-3.png

And for something I don’t really say I like is…well, Ryouko (I thought her name was Ryouka and had to come back and fix it. That’s how much attention I paid to this young lady.) She’s not your average annoying heroine, but she borders on being one. Ryouko has a crush on Yuliy and approaches him even after seeing him murder a vampire. She’s got guts. But…she probably knows right that Professor Hanada got murdered and Yuliy just slaughtered what’s left of him in front of her very eyes?

Probably the reason I don’t really like her is because in the scene below with Ryouko, Yuliy said one of if not the most cliched lines of angst people: “You shouldn’t get close to me.”

tenrou ep 3-7.png

And I feel that Ryouko is like the audience’s POV character. It’s not a bad thing. A lot of good stories have this kind of character, and she serves the story’s flow well. It’s just strange how she keeps hanging around Yuliy without flinching about his weird eyes or his ability to kick a blade into someone’s throat. Like, it’s okay if you like this guy. He’s handsome, all right. But why dost thou not question anything. Love makes people blind. Okay, I should stop, I’m not making much sense here. Perhaps in the future episodes I can clarify what exactly is the issue I have with this girl.

That new villain, the vampire doctor kind of guy, just reminds me so much of D. Gray Man. Ah, I’m getting D. Gray Man Hallow flashbacks.

Sorry this review got a little long. I’m watching Sirius for my Japanese class portfolio so I had to pay extra attention to everything. See ya next post.

 

 

Leave a comment