Heroes War: Counterattack – first impression review

Heroes War: Counterattack launched in Thailand on April 1st. The game was developed by Com2uS, the same people who made Summoners War and other games you probably have heard of. It managed to bait me with a Thai server exclusive character, Marisa, that I’m going to get on the 7th.

Heroes War: Counterattack เกมใหม่ RPG เตรียมแจกตัวละครไทยสุดพิเศษ ...

So far, it’s been so-so.

Perks

Combat

Heroes War: Counterattack เปิดให้บริการในบ้านเราแล้ววันนี้

I hate turn-based games in general, but not this one. The game has a system where you have to get the character within range of the enemy/ally to use a skill, which adds some color to traditional turn-based combat.

Character Design

Most action games are targeted towards male players, but this game has a lot of husbandos, which is nice. It’s also one of the few games where I find the main characters endearing.

Story

So far, the story has been interesting, although sometimes it feels like it’s dragging itself out. It wouldn’t be so interesting if one of the bad guys wasn’t such a big jerk lol.

Setbacks

Glitches & Lag

Being new, the game still has some glitches, although it isn’t too bad. It doesn’t lag so much if I set the graphics to low. However, the game loses connection very easily so I can’t auto farm anything.

The most annoying thing with this game is how slow the equipment upgrade is. You spend around 6000 coins per round, and one time I failed the upgrade 11 times in a row. Gosh.

Money hungry

Heroes War: Counterattack guide & Tips | GamingGuider

The game doesn’t hide the fact that it’s trying to sell you booster packages. In a time where people are losing jobs left and right, people are more concerned about having money to eat. I don’t think it’s a good idea to rub these players in their face saying that ‘you never gonna get good unless you buy these stuff even though you have nothing to eat lol’.

Some characters aren’t purchasable with farmed currency. Also, you cannot collect some drops from dungeons unless you purchase certain packages. It’s frustrating. It’s like the game is practically forcing you to spend money.

Overall, I think I’ll quit the game after I clear enough of the main story and get Marisa on the team. Maybe it just isn’t my cup of tea.

Leave a comment