Tears of Themis CBT First Impressions

UPDATE: The game has been released. You can download it on Appstore or Playstore.

If miHoYo knows something, it’s how to write good characters.

miHoYo เผย Tears of Themis ผลงานสุดโรแมนติกสืบสวนสำหรับแพลตฟอร์มมือถือ -  GameMonday

Tears of Themis is an otome game where you play as a lawyer. Your job is basically to protect your clients using evidence you’ve gathered. Along the way, one (or more) of the four main guys will assist you with your job.

(I’ll use publicly available pictures since I’ve heard how serious miHoYo is with people posting beta test pictures, so I’ll avoid bringing trouble to myself just in case.)

Gameplay:

The game has a few systems.

The main story is a mix of visual novel, point and click mystery game, and Ace Attorney courtroom sessions. You have to observe witnesses/suspects to infer their back story, get testimonies, find evidence in the crime scene, make connections between evidence you found, and present the right evidence at the right time in court. You also have to make choices that will affect the outcome of the case.

Interspersed between story sessions are debate sessions, which is just like any CCG battle where you just hit auto-battle and wait for it to be over. The difference is that you constantly see the characters bicker on screen with some interesting dialogue. Honestly I don’t like the battle aspect much but there’s gotta be some use for all those husbando cards you’ve pulled, right?

The gacha system in this game is centered around collecting cards of the four main guys. The rarer cards have their own stories with unique CGs, stills, text messages, and even rarer ones will have the character in question video call you (fully voiced). A lot of work went into one card, which makes them really worth collecting.

You also have the ‘visit’ system. This allows you to play minigames with the guy you’re visiting. You can also pet them, and they’ll respond depending on where you petted. This part is partially voiced.

There is also the Trials of Themis system which is like a trivia game that gives you extra upgrade materials. The questions weren’t hard, if you know a thing or two about Greek gods or Ancient Greece then you’ll have no problem. I didn’t like it too much because it was uninteresting, but it’s a nice touch.

Story:

I’ve played the first four chapters and they were… intense. Like, you wouldn’t think this was an otome game because it’s more like a detective game. The characters and events that happen didn’t feel forced at all (usually when I play otome games, there are situations that pop out of nowhere which basically force the MCs and the love interest to spend time together, but I saw none of that in ToT.) Also, the stories have their own twists and turns. While it may be easy to guess where the story is going at first, the later ones got even more complicated, and digging up the truth is the joy of this game.

Husbando:

A hell lot of work went into writing these characters, I’m sure. Aside from beautifully illustrated and animated shots, these people are so endearing I ended up liking characters I didn’t think I’d even like.

Artem Wing

Artem Wing (@artem_wing) | Twitter

Fav voice: S Chinese, Korean

Your classic cool oppa type, but is actually very soft and caring. He’s the heroine’s senior at the law firm, dubbed the top lawyer, although it seems there are cases which he cannot get into.

I thought Artem was going to be this cold, lecturing type but he ended up being very approachable and cooperative, and is the heroine’s source of guidance. He works as her equal, which is the part I really like about Artem since it beautifully sidesteps the boring tropes that he may fall into. He’s also a bit awkward and clumsy at times. Which makes him even more endearing.

I can’t pick a favorite voice language between S Chinese and Korean. I feel that his Korean voice suits him and his character really well (and it’s not just because I feel that he’s the sunbae type) but his S Chinese voice has this low, raspy tone that’s just so… uh, can’t find the right word, but it’s really good, okay?

Luke Pearce

Tears of Themis SSRs and Case Files Shared Ahead of Closed Beta

Fav voice: T Chinese

That genki guy who’s clearly hiding something. Childhood friend, top bioengineering student, Sherlock Holmes in training, pretty decent chef, with military background to boot? If I were to critique him, I’d say he’s too awesome to be real. But he’s cute as hell and I like this guy. Although I have a hunch that he’d turn into a yandere if anyone dares touch the heroine lol.

I like Luke from the moment he appears (and it’s not because of the cheesy YA narration!) because… well, we’re both science students haha. He also seems to be hiding something tragic and I’d be interested in playing the game to find out what it is. His chemistry with the heroine is so wholesome I’m smiling the whole time they hang out. (miHoYo, please don’t put a death flag on this guy or I swear I’m not spending a dime on Genshin Impact ever again)

I love all his voices in every language (omg his JP VA is Kaji Yuki) but T Chinese came up as my favorite because he sounds soft and sweet yet playful which suits his character… as far as I’ve seen.

Vyn Richter

Tears of Themis on Twitter: "✨Closed Beta SSR Sneak Peek Vyn Richter SSR -  Near and Far "A scar in exchange for never forgetting me? A bargain." ✨Sign  up for the Closed

Fav voice: Korean

He’s the most interesting out of the four characters. Dr. Vyn is a psychiatrist, and you get the feeling that he’s constantly trying to play mind games on you, but in truth he just wants to get to know you and stuff. Book smart and street smart, mature and charismatic, it seems there’s nothing this man cannot do. (Except housework) What makes him interesting is that he’s not a character without flaws, despite how perfect he appears. There are things which he cannot do or does poorly, even though at other times it seems like he’s invincible.

All the small details and tidbits inserted at various points in the game just tells me how much work went into researching and characterizing for Vyn Richter. If he wasn’t a psychiatrist, I’d take him for a gambler lol. If he’s a really person, I would like to sit down and have some conversation with him over snacks.

Korean ended up being my fav voice just because of the sound of the language. S Chinese is a very close second, since it really suits his personality, while T Chinese gives him a bit more sense of mystery. I feel so-so with his JP voice although it’s Fukuyama Jun.

(Oh yeah, and I forgot to mention that I love the heroine’s design, especially with glasses and buns. She’s so cute.)

Marius von Hagen

Tears of Themis on Twitter: "✨Closed Beta SSR Sneak Peek Marius von Hagen  SSR - Narrow Road "All I care about is how you see me." ✨Sign up for the  Closed Beta

Fav voice: Japanese

I haven’t hung out with Marius much but he’s super righteous young CEO of a large company, yet he’s also an art student who’s more interested in finishing his artworks than mulling over whether he’d get arrested or not.

I died when he said ‘onee-san’, so naturally JP voice is my fav one. The other voices are really good as well.

Overall:

I will definitely play ToT when it is released. That’s all.

Leave a comment