Chain Chronicle: Haecceitas no Hikari Ep. 4-6 Review: welcome to the dark side

The story went into the dark side. Kind of.

chain chronicle ep 5-2.png

Here we get the ‘good guy’s teammate went into the dark side’ trope with Bruckhardt, and Yuri proceeds to collect more members into the team. There’s the Universal Maid Aludra (who is super annoying in PvP) and Velnar (person that has the largest fanbase), Kiki and others whose names I don’t recall. The three Stooges Sages appear once again with their usual useless bickering.

Anime Yuri is a whole lot more interesting than game Yuri. Game Yuri behaves like an average fantasy harem male protagonist in many of the side stories, while anime Yuri talks and acts like the Hero he is, being a respected leader and brother figure worthy of people’s trust. Inside, however, he’s a mess of self doubt. This is what saved him from being just another hero in another action-fantasy. He’s Anime Yuri. He’s not the blank slate harem master Game Yuri. He’s a leader who failed to do what he set out to do and he’s trying to make it right, although he blames himself for everything.

chain chronicle ep 6-1

Quoting from the previous post, “I was actually expecting Yuri to go into the dark side, if that happened Chain Chronicles would be so exciting to watch. But I guess they’re not taking the risk of upsetting the game’s fans.” Guess what it’s now exciting to watch. I’ll see if that guy with long white hair is the upgraded Yuri and if he will fight Juliana or not.

chain chronicle ep 5-1.png

Episode five is so dark I can barely see what’s going on without turning the brightness up to the point where my eyes start to hurt. Episode six is pretty good… it leaves off at the right spot. I honestly did not see Kain’s death coming. I knew that Yuri will stab someone in the gut but I didn’t think it was going to be him, since the guy was the first to join the army. Well, once I think about it, Kain’s role in the story sort of overlap with Aram’s, so there is a reason to kill him off. Second, if Michidia or Marina died I don’t think Yuri will feel that much remorse (just thinking. He might, but they didn’t interact that much so I can’t say.) Phoena could work, but she’s still protected by the plot shield.

So the plot is steering into an interesting direction. There are too many characters, if I hadn’t played the game before, I don’t think I will remember anyone aside from those the story focuses on. I’m curious what they will do with the next half, so off I go to watch the rest of the anime.

 

Leave a comment